Legend status, inductions, who enters HOF, names, players, details, how to watch

Australian football’s highest honor was bestowed on a fortunate few as the Hall of Fame class of 2022 was revealed, capped by Russell Ebert becoming the 32nd Legend inducted.

Matthew Pavlich, Terry Cashion, Bill Dempsey, Mike Fitzpatrick, Ted Tyson, Brent Harvey, Michael Taylor and Nicky Winmar were all inducted, while Ebert was elevated to Legend status.

The other Legends are Darrel Baldock, Ron Barassi, Kevin Bartlett, Malcolm Blight, Haydn Bunton Sr, Barry Cable, Roy Cazaly, John Coleman, Gordon Coventry, Jack Dyer, Graham ‘Polly’ Farmer, Royce Hart, Peter Hudson, Bill Hutchison, Alex Jesaulenko, John Kennedy Sr., Tony Lockett, Leigh Matthews, Jock McHale, Kevin Murray, John Nicholls, Bob Pratt, Dick Reynolds, Barrie Robran, Kevin Sheedy, Bob Skilton, Norm Smith, Ian Stewart and Ted Whitten.

Watch The 2022 Australian Football Hall of Fame Special Live on Kayo tonight from 7PM AEST. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

NEW FOX FOOTY PODCAST – How good are the Pies, AFL drugs issue

Listen below or subscribe in Apple Podcasts or Spotify

The Australian Football Hall of Fame selection committee is Richard Goyder AO (chair), Tania Armstrong, Graham Cornes, David Frith (statistics/history consultant), Ross Glendinning, Karen Lyon, Paul Marsh, Al Nicholson, Michael O’Loughlin, David Parkin , Patrick Keane (secretary).

Recap the evening below.

RECAP (all times AEST)


Matthew Pavlich has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Pavlich is the most respected and admired player in Fremantle Football Club history, playing 353 games and winning six best-and-fairest awards at the club.

Taken with pick No.4 in the 1999 draft, Pavlich played in a variety of positions, thriving in virtually all of them.

It was up forward, however, where Pavlich found his home, eventually kicking 700 goals by the time he hung up the boots at the end of 2016.

Pavlich captained the Dockers from 2007 until 2015 and was an eight-time leading goalkicker for the club.

He’s a six-time All-Australian and was made an AFL Life Member in 2013 and a Fremantle Life Member in 2006.

Pavlich turned 40 at the end of last year.


The late Terry Cashion has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Cashion was arguably Tasmania’s greatest rover, representing the state 14 times. and his summary would be even more impressive if not for injury and the interruption of World War Two.

Cashion won league best and fairest awards in eight consecutive seasons from 1946.

He played 193 senior games, which was a remarkable return given he was unable to play between the ages of 19 and 24.

Cashion was selected as a rover in the Tasmanian Team of the Century and was an inaugural inductee in the Tasmanian Football Hall of Fame before being elevated to Legend status in 2006.


Bill Dempsey has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Dempsey was a star ruckman with the capability to play as a defender when needed.

The Northern Territory-born Dempsey played for Darwin Football Club in the Northern Territory Football League, playing in the 1958-59, 1959-60 and 1967-68 premiership sides, while also captaining the 1964-95 Darwin side.

Dempsey’s time in Perth was also prolific in terms of recognition.

He played in the West Perth premiership sides of 1969, 1971 and 1975, winning the Simpson Medal in 1969.

He was named in the West Perth Team of the Century in 2000 and inducted into the West Australian Football Hall of Fame in 2004, while he was also named in the Indigenous Team of the Century in 2005.

He was inducted into the AFL Northern Territory Hall of Fame in 2010.

Dempsey retired having played 343 games for West Perth.

He turned 80 this year.

“You couldn’t make this story up!” | 03:36


Mike Fitzpatrick has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

The Victorian-born Fitzpatrick played for both Subiaco and Carlton, notching up impressive achievements at both clubs.

For Subiaco, Fitzpatrick played in the 1973 premiership team and was the club’s best-and-fairest winner that year, as well as in 1974.

After his 97 games at Subiaco, Fitzpatrick moved to Carlton to play in the VFL, where he played 150 games and kicked 150 goals.

Fitzpatrick played in three premierships for the Blues, including in 1979 when he was also crowned best-and-fairest.

He captained the side from 1980 to 1983.


Ted Tyson has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Tyson played 228 games for West Perth, during which he kicked an astonishing 1197 goals, including at least 100 goals in a season six times.

He was a four-time Western Australian National Football League premiership player.

Tyson’s extraordinary career was perhaps only outdone at the time by George Doig – a fellow star of West Australian football.

He passed away in 1996.


Brent Harvey has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

With 432 games, Harvey holds the record for the most matches played in VFL/AFL history, with the North Melbourne star’s retirement at the end of 2016 arguably premature as the Kangaroos looked to regenerate the side.

He is a four-time All-Australian and played in the 1999 premiership side.

At North Melbourne, Harvey is a five-time best and fairest winner and was the side’s captain from 2009 until 2011.

He is a member of the North Melbourne Team of the Century.


Michael Taylor has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Taylor was a two-time South Australian National Football League premiership player with Norwood.

He played 267 games for Norwood and was a six-time best-and-fairest winner, as well as the side’s captain from 1978 to 1980.

Between his stints at Norwood, Taylor played 92 games for Collingwood, initially going on a one-year lease but staying on for four seasons.

He was an inaugural inductee of the South Australian Football Hall of Fame.


Nicky Winmar has been inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Winmar is one of the game’s most iconic figures, playing 341 games, with the majority of them coming at St Kilda.

It was at the Saints that Winmar was a two-time best and fairest, two-time All Australian and, in 1988, the club’s leading goalkicker.

He is a member of St Kilda’s Team of the Century and the West Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Winmar was racially vilified throughout his career and his response to one incident in 1993 led to one of the most iconic images in Australian sports history, with Winmar lifting his jumper and pointing to his skin.


Russell Ebert has been elevated to Legend status in the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Ebert is one of the game’s greatest ever players, with the midfielder one of the most all-rounded players of all-time.

In 392 games for Port Adelaide (with one season for North Melbourne inbetween) Ebert won three premierships and was the side’s best-and-fairest winner in two of those seasons.

He finished with six best-and-fairest awards overall for Port Adelaide and was a four-time recipient of the Magarey Medal for being the best player in the SANFL.

Ebert captained the club for a combined eight years and was the side’s best first-year player when he joined in 1968.

He was a three-time captain of South Australia’s representative side, for which he played 29 games, before coaching the side between 1996 and 1998.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button